Wednesday, January 26, 2005

Condi Wins!

We knew it was coming. Lying in order to get us into an unnecessary and bloody war is so *yawn* these days. But it still matters. Condoleezza Rice was confirmed as Secretary of State this morning by a vote of 85 to 13. If you're like me, you're wondering - how did my senators vote? For your edification, the "nays" are as follows:

  • Akaka (D-HI)
  • Bayh (D-IN)
  • Boxer (D-CA)
  • Byrd (D-WV)
  • Dayton (D-MN)
  • Durbin (D-IL)
  • Harkin (D-IA)
  • Jeffords (I-VT)
  • Kennedy (D-MA)
  • Kerry (D-MA)
  • Lautenberg (D-NJ)
  • Levin (D-MI)
  • Reed (D-RI)

    Kudos, John Kerry, for growing a set of balls since November! In fact, well done, all of you, for standing up for what we believe in.

    Disappointing names on the list of shame:
  • My own Senators Clinton and Schumer
  • Joe Biden? Joe! Joey! I thought we was tight, yo!
  • Dianne Feinstein
  • Joe Lieberman (just kidding, we all know he's already a Republican)
  • Barack Obama - Dude! You just got there. We love you! Why you gotta sell us out so soon?
  • Harry Reid, our noble leader
  • Debbie Stabenow (only because I'm originally from Michigan) Debs - Carl voted nay; what gives?

    Let's not forget this vote, and perhaps even more importantly, let's note how they vote in the Gonzales Affair. Remember that it's their job to represent our interests. Not the other way around. If you don't feel represented by this vote, write to them, call them - let them know.

    You can find out your senators, congressman and their contact information here.

  • No comments: